This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

How to use NShape as a presentation framework for your existing project.

Jun 29, 2012 at 2:29 AM

Hello all, I am new to NShape and I have been wondering if there is a tutorial on using NShape to extend an existing project or class so that the shapes would represent and have the class properties and behaviours. I would be grateful for a simple step by step guidelines to implement this. I am thinking of using NShape as a property of the class and not the core of the class itself. Thanks. 

Jun 29, 2012 at 2:33 PM

I think what you are looking for is the IModelObject interface in conjunction with PropertyMappings/ModelMappings.

Please have a look at the "ModelMapping Demo" project shipped with NShape (open it with "NShape Designer"):

• Double click model item "Model 1" on the left. A shape will be selected.
  • Select Tab "Model" in the property area on the right. You will see the properties of "Model 1"
  • Change the value of property "FloatValue" and when applying the change, the shape will display the model's FloatValue as Text.

Behind the scenes, a property mapping links the ModelObject's property value to a property of the shape.
You can change this property mapping in the template designer (right-click the red Ellipse in the tool box, select "Edit", switch to "Model Visualization" tab).
IModelObject is a general interface which you can implement in your classes. The NShape framework is able to interact with the IModelObject interface.

There is also some documantation concerning "Shape and Model", "IModelObject", "PropertyMapping" / "ModelMapping", etc.

If this is what you are looking for, we can provide you additional instructions on the usage.

Jun 30, 2012 at 6:44 PM